9780312561734

Why Spy? Espionage in an Age of Uncertainty

  • ISBN 13:

    9780312561734

  • ISBN 10:

    0312561733

  • Edition: 1st
  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 06/09/2009
  • Publisher: Griffin

Note: Not guaranteed to come with supplemental materials (access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.)

Extend Your Rental at Any Time

Need to keep your rental past your due date? At any time before your due date you can extend or purchase your rental through your account.

Rental Options

List Price $18.99 Save

Free Shipping Free Shipping On Every Order
In Stock Usually Ships in 24 Hours.

Summary

What motivates someone to risk his or her life in the shadowy, often dangerous world of espionage? What are the needs and opportunities for spying amid the "war on terrorism"? And how can the United States recruit spies to inform its struggle with Islamic fundamentalists' acts of anti-Western jihad? Drawing on over twenty-five years of experience, Frederick P. Hitz, a former inspector general of the Central Intelligence Agency, guides the reader through the byzantine structure of the U.S. intelligence community (which agency handles what?). This is a fascinating glimpse into the inner workings of international espionage and intelligence,Why Spy?is a must-read not only for fans of Tom Clancy and John le Carre, but for anyone concerned about the security of the United States in a postcold war, post-9/11 world.

Author Biography

Read more

Table of Contents

Read more

Excerpts

Read more

Write a Review