Franklin County

  • ISBN 13:


  • ISBN 10:


  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 09/17/2012
  • Publisher: Arcadia Pub

Note: Not guaranteed to come with supplemental materials (access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.)

Extend Your Rental at Any Time

Need to keep your rental past your due date? At any time before your due date you can extend or purchase your rental through your account.

Sorry, this item is currently unavailable.


In the fall of 1785, the Virginia General Assembly voted to create a new county in the southwestern part of the state. The new county, named after Benjamin Franklin, was formed from parts of Bedford and Henry Counties. In January 1786, the first court in Franklin County convened and the county government was established. Native sons who have risen to national prominence include African American educator Booker T. Washington and the only Confederate commander to lead an attack on Washington, DC, during the Civil War, Gen. Jubal A. Early. With an area of 712 square miles, the county includes the communities of Ferrum, Endicott, Sontag, Glade Hill, Snow Creek, Henry, Penhook, Union Hall, Burnt Chimney, Callaway, Wirtz, Redwood, Scruggs, Sydnorsville, and the town of Boones Mill. The county seat of Rocky Mount was incorporated after Rocky Mount and another village, Mount Pleasant, combined in 1873. Having acquired the title of the "Moonshine Capital of the World" during Prohibition, Franklin County is also the eastern anchor of Virginia's music heritage trail, "the Crooked Road."

Write a Review