IMPORTANT COVID-19 UPDATES
9780823443536

The Blind Colt

  • ISBN 13:

    9780823443536

  • ISBN 10:

    0823443531

  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 01/05/2021
  • Publisher: Holiday House

Note: Not guaranteed to come with supplemental materials (access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.)

Extend Your Rental at Any Time

Need to keep your rental past your due date? At any time before your due date you can extend or purchase your rental through your account.

Rental Options

List Price $17.99 Save

Free Shipping Free Shipping On Every Order
In Stock Usually Ships in 24-48 Hours

Summary

Can a young blind horse survive in the badlands of Montana?

In the badlands, where the ground is soft but the slopes are steep and the vegetation is scarce, it can be difficult for a wild horse to survive. Even more so if that horse is blind. But the young colt has his strong mare of a mother looking out for him, and his other senses help him smell the friendly prairie dogs, feel for rough terrain, and hear whenever wolves draw near-- sometimes well before anyone else in his herd.

That's not all. A boy named Whitey, about ten years old, and his ranch-owning Uncle Torwal watch from the sidelines whenever the colt and his herd pass through the plains near their home. Whitey, especially, hopes the young colt grows strong, just as he hopes they might get a chance to meet someday. And when a rough winter starts to settle in, he might just get his wish.

Now celebrating its 80th anniversary with a beautifully redesigned new edition, this is a timeless tale of survival and friendship. This classic of children's literature in the tradition of The Black Stallion and Misty of Chincoteague comes from one of America's master storytellers. Glen Rounds grew up in the Dakota badlands, and drew from details from his own life on a ranch to depict one little colt's struggle to make it through the winter.

Author Biography

Read more

Write a Review