9781608191666

23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism

  • ISBN 13:

    9781608191666

  • ISBN 10:

    1608191664

  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 01/04/2011
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Press

Note: Not guaranteed to come with supplemental materials (access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.)

Extend Your Rental at Any Time

Need to keep your rental past your due date? At any time before your due date you can extend or purchase your rental through your account.

Rental Options

List Price $25.00 Save

Free Shipping Free Shipping On Every Order
Usually Ships in 3-5 Business Days

Summary

Thing 1: There is no such thing as the free market. Thing 5: The washing machine has changed the world more than the Internet. Thing 13: Making rich people richer doesn't make the rest of us richer. Thing 22: Financial markets need to become less, not more, efficient. If you've wondered, how did we not see the economic collapse coming? Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: we didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that free-market fundamentalists have spun since the Age of Reagan. Chang, author of the international bestsellerBad Samaritans, is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity--and wit--in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz.23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalismequips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works--and doesn't. In his final chapter, "How to Rebuild the World," Chang offers a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of becoming slaves of the market.

Author Biography

Read more

Table of Contents

Read more

Write a Review