Sorry, this item is currently unavailable.

Mysterious Signal

ISBN: 9780802407207 | 080240720X
Edition: Reprint
Format: Paperback
Publisher: River North
Pub. Date: 7/1/2013

Why Rent from Knetbooks?

Because Knetbooks knows college students. Our rental program is designed to save you time and money. Whether you need a textbook for a semester, quarter or even a summer session, we have an option for you. Simply select a rental period, enter your information and your book will be on its way!

Top 5 reasons to order all your textbooks from Knetbooks:

  • We have the lowest prices on thousands of popular textbooks
  • Free shipping both ways on ALL orders
  • Most orders ship within 48 hours
  • Need your book longer than expected? Extending your rental is simple
  • Our customer support team is always here to help
When Jordan and his father, Micah Parker, learn they are being watched, they need to leave Springfield, Illinois, at once. With the stolen money recovered and the thief behind bars, Libby looks forward to returning the money Pa needs to pay off the Christina. Jordan makes plans to travel to Chicago and turn over the gift to help fugitive slaves. But then a dangerous man escapes! If he recognizes Libby, Jordan and Peter will be in danger. When a disguise for Libby seems the only answer, it requires a sacrifice she isn't sure she's willing to make. Arriving in a strange city, the Freedom Seekers look for a safe house--a station in the Underground Railroad where fugitive slaves can hide. When finding help might be a matter of life or death can they spot a mysterious signal in time? And how does a young teacher named Annika become an important part of their lives? Can the great detective Allan Pinkerton offer the surprising solution they need? Will a life-threatening steamboat accident and Libby's new willingness to forgive her Aunt Vi bring the breakthroughs she needs? In The Mysterious Signal, the fifth Freedom Seekers novel, as well as others in the series, Lois Walfrid Johnson uses fast-paced storytelling and biblical truth to bring important concepts alive. The Freedom Seekers series is a six-novel middle-reader set in 1857. Feel the rush of immigrants to the new land, and the dangers of the Underground Railroad in these true-to-life Riverboat stories.The characters will receive a heart-warming response from readers of all ages. Adult readers will ask themselves, "Would I have been one of those who helped runaway slaves?" Lois Walfrid Johnson uses strong historical research, great writing, and wonderful storytelling to bring alive a critical time in American history.

Please wait while this item is added to your cart...