To the Swift Classic Triple Crown Horses and Their Race for Glory

  • ISBN 13:


  • ISBN 10:


  • Edition: 1st
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 04/29/2008
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Note: Not guaranteed to come with supplemental materials (access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.)

Extend Your Rental at Any Time

Need to keep your rental past your due date? At any time before your due date you can extend or purchase your rental through your account.

Sorry, this item is currently unavailable.


A dramatic compilation of the finest writing on the Triple Crown of horse racing by bestselling and award-winning authors. Horse racing's Triple Crown is one of the most sought-after, demanding and elusive brass rings in all of sport. Since 1919, when Sir Barton became the first three-year-old to capture the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness and the Belmont Stakes in a single year, only ten other horses have duplicated the feat, and not a one since Affirmed in 1978. It's not surprising, then, that the names of the Triple Crown winners have an almost mythical ring to them: Gallant Fox, Whirlaway, War Admiral, Assault, Citation, Count Fleet, Secretariat. But memorable, too, are many of those that fell short, as did Spectacular Bid, Sunday Silence, Alysheba and two recent upstarts who won the hearts of fans everywhere, Funny Cide and Smarty Jones. There have been horses that seemed destined to wear the Triple Crown but didn't, such as Native Dancer, whose late charge in the Kentucky Derby wasn't quite enough, and Barbaro, whose tragic misstep at the Preakness turned into a heartrending drama of courage and hope. Now, for the first time, the story of the Triple Crown is told in the words of some of horse racing's greatest writers. Combining on-the-spot reportage as it appeared in the pages ofThe New York Timeswith new and original essays, To the Swiftcovers the biggest wins, the toughest rivalries, the wildest flukes and the biggest personalities, equine and human. With classic photos and complete lists of the winners, it is a must-have for racing fans everywhere.

Author Biography

Read more

Table of Contents

Read more

Write a Review