IMPORTANT COVID-19 UPDATES
9781681375243

Suppose a Sentence

  • ISBN 13:

    9781681375243

  • ISBN 10:

    1681375249

  • Format: Paperback
  • Copyright: 09/22/2020
  • Publisher: New York Review of Books

Note: Not guaranteed to come with supplemental materials (access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.)

Extend Your Rental at Any Time

Need to keep your rental past your due date? At any time before your due date you can extend or purchase your rental through your account.

Rental Options

List Price $17.95 Save

Free Shipping Free Shipping On Every Order
Usually Ships in 24-48 Hours

Summary

A captivating meditation on the power of the sentence by the author of Essayism, a 2018 New Yorker book of the year.

In Suppose a Sentence, Brian Dillon, whom John Banville has called “a literary flâneur in the tradition of Baudelaire and Walter Benjamin,” has written a sequel of sorts to Essayism, turning his attention to the oblique and complex pleasures of the sentence. A series of essays prompted by a single sentence—from Shakespeare to James Baldwin, John Ruskin to Joan Didion—this new book explores style, voice, and language, along with the subjectivity of reading. Both an exercise in practical criticism and a set of experiments or challenges, Suppose a Sentence is a polemical and personal reflection on the art of the sentence in literature.

Author Biography

Read more

Write a Review