9780345502957

The Lady of Secrets

  • ISBN 13:

    9780345502957

  • ISBN 10:

    0345502957

  • Format: Trade Paper
  • Copyright: 12/11/2012
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books

Note: Not guaranteed to come with supplemental materials (access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.)

Extend Your Rental at Any Time

Need to keep your rental past your due date? At any time before your due date you can extend or purchase your rental through your account.

Sorry, this item is currently unavailable.

Summary

This brilliant new installment in bestselling author Susan Carroll's mesmerizing Dark Queen historical fiction series is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory. Targeted by those driven to use her extraordinary talents for both good and evil, the powerful new Lady of Faire Isle faces treachery and bitter vengeance at the court of King James. Queen Catherine de Medici is dead, and for Meg Wolfe-successor in a line of legendary healers and mystics known as "daughters of the earth"-it is a time of new beginnings. She strives to be ordinary, invisible in the mists of Faire Isle, and is determined to put the terrifying days of a wicked mother and turbulent childhood behind her. But soon a summons from King James will rekindle a menacing power from the past, bringing haunting visions of a nightmare already unfolding-and a shattering mystery steeped in magic that will determine a destiny from which she cannot hide. Meg's task: Save the king from the most insidious form of treachery, invisible to those who do not possess Meg's extraordinary gifts. But as Meg discovers, there are more sinister motivations at play in the king's world. Torn between two very different men whose motives and secrets are tied inexorably to her own fate, Meg learns that she can no longer trust anyone or anything-not even her own heart. Praise for Susan Carroll's Twilight of a Queen "[Susan] Carroll's vivid portrayal of Catherine de Medici is mesmerizing, but the evil queen does not overshadow either the romance or the strong characterization and plot that are Carroll's hallmarks."- RT Book Reviews "Fascinating . . . full of twists and turns and a lot of intriguing historical detail."-Night Owl Reviews

Excerpts

Read more

Write a Review