9781452149875

Hungry Jim

  • ISBN 13:

    9781452149875

  • ISBN 10:

    1452149879

  • Format: Hardcover
  • Copyright: 09/03/2019
  • Publisher: Chronicle Books

Note: Not guaranteed to come with supplemental materials (access cards, study guides, lab manuals, CDs, etc.)

Extend or Purchase Your Rental at Any Time

Need to keep your rental past your due date? At any time before your due date you can extend or purchase your rental through your account.

Rental Options

List Price $17.99 Save

Free Shipping Free Shipping On Every Order
Usually Ships in 3-5 Business Days

Summary

"In this clever tribute to Maurice Sendak, Snyder and Groenink gleefully subvert picture book norms by embracing the beastliest behavior." Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

A hilariously meaningful tale about learning to control your instincts: When Jim wakes up one Tuesday morning, he doesn't feel like eating his pancakes. In fact, Jim doesn't feel like Jim. He feels rather, well, beastly. But he is hungry. Very hungry... hungry as a lion! This clever tale of moods from Laurel Snyder and Chuck Groenink offers a lighthearted depiction of the beastliness that lives inside all of us—and the power we have to put it in its place.

• Surprising yet satisfying, this humorous book will have readers of all ages roaring to devour it
• Richly illustrated pages are engaging and help readers connect with the story
• Author Laurel Snyder is the author of many books for children, including the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award-winning Charlie & Mouse
• Illustrator Chuck Groenink hails from a village in the north of the Netherlands, where he spent his formative years climbing trees, drawing, reading, and cycling

Fans of The Dreamer, Ruby's Sword, and Tomorrow Most Likely will also enjoy the engaging storyline and whimsical illustrations in Hungry Jim

"Use this at story hour and expect giggles, shrieks, and groans."
Booklist

• Great family read-aloud book
• Books for kids ages 3–5
• Children's book for preschool to kindergarten

Author Biography

Read more

Write a Review