Sorry, this item is currently unavailable.

Symphony No. 9 in D Minor

ISBN: 9780486494258 | 048649425X
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Dover Publications
Pub. Date: 8/20/2014

Why Rent from Knetbooks?

Because Knetbooks knows college students. Our rental program is designed to save you time and money. Whether you need a textbook for a semester, quarter or even a summer session, we have an option for you. Simply select a rental period, enter your information and your book will be on its way!

Top 5 reasons to order all your textbooks from Knetbooks:

  • We have the lowest prices on thousands of popular textbooks
  • Free shipping both ways on ALL orders
  • Most orders ship within 48 hours
  • Need your book longer than expected? Extending your rental is simple
  • Our customer support team is always here to help
Austrian composer Anton Bruckner (1824-96) was devout in his religion, and he dedicated his ninth and final symphony "To God the Beloved." Bruckner called the work's third movement his "Farewell to Life," and indeed, the composer did not survive to complete the symphony. He had conceived the entire final movement and orchestrated large portions of it, which were posthumously finished and performed. This edition represents the first authoritative attempt at reproducing what the composer wrote, rather than concluding the work.
The symphony was first published in 1902 in the Löwe edition, the only performed version for three decades. A 1932 concert by the Munich Philharmonic featured both the complete Löwe version—with its many alterations to orchestrations, phrasing, and dynamics—and this edition by Alfred Orel, which includes only the first three complete movements in the composer's original form. The landmark performance provided the impetus for the support and funding of the Bruckner Society to prepare authentic versions of all of the symphonies. This inexpensive and authoritative edition of Bruckner's haunting and spiritual work will appeal to performers, conductors, and other music lovers.

Please wait while this item is added to your cart...