Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental purchases.


You may extend rentals at any time.

Kitchens of the Great Midwest A Novel

ISBN: 9780525429142 | 052542914X
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books
Pub. Date: 7/28/2015

Why Rent from Knetbooks?

Because Knetbooks knows college students. Our rental program is designed to save you time and money. Whether you need a textbook for a semester, quarter or even a summer session, we have an option for you. Simply select a rental period, enter your information and your book will be on its way!

Top 5 reasons to order all your textbooks from Knetbooks:

  • We have the lowest prices on thousands of popular textbooks
  • Free shipping both ways on ALL orders
  • Most orders ship within 48 hours
  • Need your book longer than expected? Extending your rental is simple
  • Our customer support team is always here to help
Already a hotly anticipated debut—about a young woman with a once-in-a-generation palate who becomes the iconic chef behind the country’s most coveted dinner reservation

When Lars Thorvald’s wife, Cynthia, falls in love with wine—and a dashing sommelier—he’s left to raise their baby, Eva, on his own. He’s determined to pass on his love of food to his daughter—starting with puréed pork shoulder. As Eva grows, she finds her solace and salvation in the flavors of her native Minnesota. From Scandinavian lutefisk to hydroponic chocolate habaneros, each ingredient represents one part of Eva’s journey as she becomes the star chef behind a legendary and secretive pop-up supper club, culminating in an opulent and emotional feast that’s a testament to her spirit and resilience.

Each chapter in J. Ryan Stradal’s startlingly original debut tells the story of a single dish and character, at once capturing the zeitgeist of the Midwest, the rise of foodie culture, and delving into the ways food creates community and a sense of identity. By turns quirky, hilarious, and vividly sensory, Kitchens of the Great Midwest is an unexpected mother-daughter story about the bittersweet nature of life—its missed opportunities and its joyful surprises. It marks the entry of a brilliant new talent, sure to appeal to readers of Where’d You Go, Bernadette?, Olive Kitteridge, and Garrison Keillor.

Related Products

  • A Map of Tulsa A Novel
    A Map of Tulsa A Novel
  • Battleborn
  • Battleborn Stories
    Battleborn Stories
  • Black Glass: Short Fictions
    Black Glass: Short Fictions
  • Enchanted August A Novel
    Enchanted August A Novel
  • Gold Fame Citrus: A Novel
    Gold Fame Citrus: A Novel
  • Laura Lamont's Life in Pictures
    Laura Lamont's Life in Pictures
  • Laura Lamont's Life in Pictures
    Laura Lamont's Life in Pictures
  • Marine Park
    Marine Park
  • Other People We Married: Stories
    Other People We Married: Stories

Please wait while this item is added to your cart...