Note: Supplemental materials are not guaranteed with Rental purchases.


You may extend rentals at any time.

The Artificial Silk Girl

ISBN: 9781590514542 | 1590514548
Edition: Reprint
Format: Trade Paper
Publisher: Other Press
Pub. Date: 6/14/2011

Why Rent from Knetbooks?

Because Knetbooks knows college students. Our rental program is designed to save you time and money. Whether you need a textbook for a semester, quarter or even a summer session, we have an option for you. Simply select a rental period, enter your information and your book will be on its way!

Top 5 reasons to order all your textbooks from Knetbooks:

  • We have the lowest prices on thousands of popular textbooks
  • Free shipping both ways on ALL orders
  • Most orders ship within 48 hours
  • Need your book longer than expected? Extending your rental is simple
  • Our customer support team is always here to help
Before Sex and the City there was Bridget Jones. And before Bridget Jones was The Artificial Silk Girl. In 1931, a young woman writer living in Germany was inspired by Anita Loos's Gentlemen Prefer Blondes to describe pre-war Berlin and the age of cinematic glamour through the eyes of a woman. The resulting novel, The Artificial Silk Girl, became an acclaimed bestseller and a masterwork of German literature, in the tradition of Christopher Isherwood's Berlin Stories and Bertolt Brecht's Three Penny Opera. Like Isherwood and Brecht, Keun revealed the dark underside of Berlin's "golden twenties" with empathy and honesty. Unfortunately, a Nazi censorship board banned Keun's work in 1933 and destroyed all existing copies of The Artificial Silk Girl. Only one English translation was published, in Great Britain, before the book disappeared in the chaos of the ensuing war. Today, more than seven decades later, the story of this quintessential "material girl" remains as relevant as ever, as an accessible new translation brings this lost classic to light once more. Other Press is pleased to announce the republication of The Artificial Silk Girl, elegantly translated by noted Germanist Kathie von Ankum, and with a new introduction by Harvard professor Maria Tatar. An ELLE Magazine Daily Essential. "A commendably deft work of social criticism and understated character portrayal. A most worthy rediscovery." -Kirkus Reviews "An illuminating look at the much-mythologized social and sexual mores of Weimar Germany." -Publishers Weekly "Damned by the Nazis, hailed by the feminists, a truly charming window into a young woman's life in the early 1930s." -Susan Salter Reynolds, Los Angeles Times Book Review

Please wait while this item is added to your cart...