Sorry, this item is currently unavailable.

23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism

ISBN: 9781608191666 | 1608191664
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Bloomsbury Press
Pub. Date: 1/4/2011

Why Rent from Knetbooks?

Because Knetbooks knows college students. Our rental program is designed to save you time and money. Whether you need a textbook for a semester, quarter or even a summer session, we have an option for you. Simply select a rental period, enter your information and your book will be on its way!

Top 5 reasons to order all your textbooks from Knetbooks:

  • We have the lowest prices on thousands of popular textbooks
  • Free shipping both ways on ALL orders
  • Most orders ship within 48 hours
  • Need your book longer than expected? Extending your rental is simple
  • Our customer support team is always here to help
Thing 1: There is no such thing as the free market. Thing 5: The washing machine has changed the world more than the Internet. Thing 13: Making rich people richer doesn't make the rest of us richer. Thing 22: Financial markets need to become less, not more, efficient. If you've wondered, how did we not see the economic collapse coming? Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: we didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that free-market fundamentalists have spun since the Age of Reagan. Chang, author of the international bestsellerBad Samaritans, is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity--and wit--in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz.23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalismequips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works--and doesn't. In his final chapter, "How to Rebuild the World," Chang offers a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of becoming slaves of the market.

Please wait while this item is added to your cart...